$5 Flat Shipping on most items in the USA
Product Image
Rare Bird Split Editions #1
Split Release Book

Jesse and Sam team up yet again, with this handsome, paperback split release.

Each author presents a new short story for late 2015: Michaels’ “Make No Mistake” and McPheeters’ “Sophisticated Devices”.

This is the debut title for Barnacle / Rare Bird’s split editions, which emulate the loopy inventiveness of old-timey punk split 7”s.

Sophisticated Devices takes on the prison system, following a man released from prison as he navigates a world that is hostile to him and his past. After 18 years, Sheldon “Chang” Chanfeld is a free man. But the world has changed since his 2010 conviction. 

Make No Mistake revolves around the story of a young man whose chance encounter with a woman in a therapist's office tips off an unhinged adventure that completely changes his perspective on life.

Size: 7.4" x 4.4"

Currently Out of Stock

We're sorry, we're currently out of this item. Enter your email below and we'll shoot you a line as soon as it comes in.

Jesse Michaels is an artist, musician and writer. He is well known for being the singer for the late '80s punk band Operation Ivy. His first novel, Whispering Bodies, was published in 2013. He currently resides in Los Angeles where he continues to write, create visual art, and direct films.

Sam McPheeters was born in Lorain, Ohio in 1969. He is the former lead singer of Born Against, Men's Recovery Project, and Wrangler Brutes, and the founder of Vermiform Records. He has written for Apology,Chicago ReaderCriterionVice, and The Village Voice, among others. His first novel, The Loom of Ruin, was published by L.A.’s Mugger Books in 2012. He lives in Pomona, CA.

Related Items

The Poky Little Puppy
Kids Classic Written by Janette Sebring Lowrey and Illustrated by Gustaf Tenggren


A Glorious Freedom
Older Women Leading Extraordinary Lives


Browse other products in: Books